Understanding the Limitations to Louisiana’s No Pay, No Play Law
When a victim is injured in an auto accident, there may be an assumption that they have a right to recovery for those injuries. What many drivers in Louisiana do not realize is that a victim’s right to compensation for their injuries in an auto accident is not automatic. Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” law affects a victim’s right to file a claim following an auto accident.
Louisiana’s No Pay, No Play statute (La. R.S. 32:866) was passed in 2011. The statute prevents victims of another driver’s negligence from collecting the first $15,000 of bodily injury damages and the first $25,000 of property damages if they are uninsured at the time of the accident.
Fortunately, Louisiana law provides the following exceptions to No Pay, No Play:
1. The driver of the other vehicle is cited for a DWI/DUI and is subsequently convicted or pleads no contest
2. The other driver intentionally causes the accident
3. The other driver flees from the scene of the accident (hit and run)
4. At the time of the accident, the other driver is involved in the commission of a felony offense
5. If your vehicle is hit while it is legally parked
So, if any of these situations are applicable, then the No Pay, No Play will not apply and you will be able to file a claim for damages against the responsible party.
We all know that in order to operate a motor vehicle, a driver’s license is required. Likewise, car insurance and various other types of insurance are required to operate a motor vehicle. Here are the minimum insurance rates required in Louisiana to drive legally:
● Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $15,000 minimum per person, $30,000 minimum per accident
● Property Damage Liability Coverage: $25,000 minimum
Be mindful that these are the minimum coverage amounts that are mandated by Louisiana law, and it may be wise to consider obtaining additional coverage above the minimum requirements.